Trustee Treasurer

Personal statement.

Key Stage 4 Life Skills Tutor and Mentor
Following a Career in Recruitment and Accounts Administration, which I studied for through various NVQ’s and Modern apprenticeships in a post sixteen setting, I changed my vocational path back in 2006.  This came about after my husband and I offer support to young female and her family after a family bereavement, family network breakdowns and challenging behaviours been displayed.  This support extended to us taking on responsibilities for the young lady for a period of time to aid her through her final years in high school, including her living at our home on a full time basis.  Once she successfully completed her time in education gaining her GCSE’s this arrangement was weened away and she returned to her mothers full time care to continue onto further education.  This experience ignited a passion in me to look for a career working with children and young people and in particular those with additional needs.  I studies Child Psychology and gained a Counselling qualification while searching for employment in my new chosen career.  I also volunteered for Childline School Services where I worked in Primary schools offering assemblies and workshops to key stage one and two pupils around many sensitive issues.  I secured a job ad a Teaching Assistant in a Specialist ESBD School with key stage three and four pupils.  I worked in that setting for 8 years and found my self quickly and continually progressing through various roles including Learning Mentor and behaviour support worker to crisis intervention worker to alternative curriculum coordinator and Form and Employability tutor.  During this time I continued to develop my skills and knowledge through various courses and qualification including PTTLS, restorative practices, Team Teach, working with challenging behaviours and learning disabilities, child protection and safeguarding plus many more, then more recently the HLTA status.  I also trained and became a centre coordinator and moderator for the awarding body ASDAN.  I am currently studying at Leeds University towards achieving a BA Hons Degree in Child and Family Studies.